Journal: Entry 3

After researching into how to create a more cinematic effect and taking a closer look at my previous pieces, I have found that they all lack a depth of field in any shot. Simply blurring out the background or foreground to direct the views attention would be a great tool to add to my arsenal. After helping a friend out on one of his pieces recently I had a chance to play with a 50mm 1.8f Canon lens. This was fantastic and fitted my need exactly, so well that after the shoot I went home and bought one. To get a grip on what this lens is capable of and to give myself some time to adjust to using it, after it arrived I have been taking it around with me and produced some stills that start to capture the mood and that I would like to incorporate into my short film somehow.

Self Portrait

IMG_1698

IMG_1692

Leave a Reply

